Room

roomA few months ago, a friend told me about a book called Room that she was currently reading and really enjoying.  So when I saw it on the list of books included in Barnes & Noble’s buy one Nook book, get one free weekend deal last weekend, I decided to give it a shot.

Room, by Emma Donoghue, is told entirely by five-year-old Jack about his life in Room, where he lives with his Ma.  And sometimes at night there’s Old Nick, but Jack isn’t allowed to come out of Wardrobe when Old Nick is there.  But now that Jack is five, Ma shares a secret with him–many years ago, Old Nick kidnapped Ma and there is actually a whole world outside of Room.  Jack’s not sure if he believes Ma, but before he knows it he is forced to question everything he knows.

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started reading Room.  The first half of the book introduces the reader to Jack and Ma’s life in Room, and to the way Jack thinks/narrates.  But before I knew it, I was completely sucked in and couldn’t put the book down!  It became the kind of book that I couldn’t stop reading, even though it was 1:00 in the morning and I knew I’d regret staying up so late the next day.  Emma Donoghue made a great choice in Jack as the narrator, because Jack’s perspective really helps the reader to understand what it might be like to realize that your whole world is a lie and to suddenly discover a new one. The story is also eerily relevant, after what happened in Cleveland recently.  I highly recommend Room for anyone looking for a new and worthwhile read!

Donoghue, Emma. Room. New York: Little, Brown and, 2010.

Image from bn.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bookshelf, Fiction

Leave a Reply

